Music & Movies Matter To Me

MM

Being the uber pop culture consumer that I am, music and movies play a huge role in my life. I’ve loved them both since I was a kid. The audio and visual stimulation hit various nerves of my system. I still like ’em…a lot.

I think I’m kinda different when it comes to both, mainly because I like so many different genres. Some of these genres wouldn’t hang out together for a drink.

As a kid, elementary school age, I really enjoyed Top 40 pop stuff. Growing up in the 80’s, it was a boom period for artists who had a ton of hits. Artists had a chance to be artists and grow their own brand. Sure, there we’re one hit wonders, but many artists really became superstars during this period: Madonna, Bruce Springsteen, Prince, Van Halen, REM, Cyndi Lauper, Duran Duran, Bryan Adams, John Mellencamp etc.

By middle school and certainly high school, I was really into the rock…hard rock, heavy metal, even the hair bands too. I’ve always been a rock guy at heart…all of it. I still am. Out of all of it, rock and all forms of it, make me happiest. AC/DC, Guns N’ Roses, Metallica, Megadeth, Van Halen, Ratt, Motley Crue, Kiss, Poison, Dangerous Toys, Great White, Faster Pussycat etc. I dig the legends, Black Sabbath, all Ozzy’s stuff, Motorhead etc. Led Zeppelin…in a class by themselves. I like all the classic rock, alternative rock, modern rock, indie rock etc. Kinda weird huh? I have friends of mine who like, let’s say Danzig, as do I, and they are amazed that I can listen to that and still enjoy Franz Ferdinand. Well, call me odd, but yeah, I like all or will check it out anyway. I like some more than others. Huge fan of grunge…Nirvana etc. I liked Seattle’s Mother Love Bone and consider them the bridge from the 80’s to 90’s.

I dig some country too. Not so much current country, but true old school country. Not the twangy stuff, but what I would call rebel or outlaw country. Country that is REAL and the people with the stories to tell, like Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, Meryl Haggard. That’s the shit, period. Those guys lived the life, maybe more hardcore than some of the legendary rockers. Truth.

I like some urban stuff too, especially classic Motown and Philly soul. R&B is the root of the rock & roll, just ask the Stones. I enjoy Marvin Gaye, probably one of the greatest ever. The 70’s stuff from Stevie Wonder had such funk.

I spent many years working for an oldies station and although I always liked much of it. I gained such an appreciation for the classic stuff. The 50’s we’re great with Buddy Holly. I like Chuck Berry and Jerry Lee Lewis and actually have met both. Legends. Nobody touches The Beatles. I love all the British Invasion stuff: The Beatles, The Stones, The Kinks etc. Elvis is the King and he was never afraid to try different things. I’m not a huge Elvis fan, but like some of his stuff. Little Sister is probably my favorite one from the King. I have a weird thing for some 70’s stuff. It just strikes a chord with me, a happy one. For instance: The Sweet’s Little Willy, The Stories Brother Louie, Ozark Mountain Daredevils Jackie Blue, The Doobie Brothers Black Water etc. Play those tunes, you’ll feel better. Play ’em LOUD!

Indie stuff, both new & old, will always have a special place with me. Some of friends get it and some don’t. See, I LIKE finding something fresh or different or the next big thing. Many of them come from the indies.

Music I’m enjoying now…A few artists to watch/listen to: Lazytalk (a great band from the UK), Family of the Year, Emeli Sande’, Miguel, Kerli and the fresh stuff from David Bowie. I could go on & on. I like a lot of stuff and a variety from different worlds.

The music matters to me and so do the movies.

I’m a film buff. Classic Hollywood, old/new, comedy, drama, documentary, action, adventure, animated etc. Like genres of music, I am the same with movies…bring ’em all on.

My favorites ever would be: The Godfather starring Marlon Brando. That first one is still my favorite. The other two we’re fine, but that first one is a classic that takes a special place with me. I love Goodfellas with Ray Liotta, Robert DeNiro, Joe Pesci. Henry Hill had quite a story and I’ve seen this flick probably a hundred times. Scarface with Al Pacino. ‘Nuff said. Yeah, I have a thing for mob films. I could watch, listen, read etc. mob stuff anytime. Fascinating stories.

I enjoy the flicks of Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sylvester Stallone, Bruce Willis etc. I know they make a few bad ones with the good, but I like ’em all. The Terminator, Rocky Rambo, Die Hard etc. I never get sick of them. The Expendables was/is a cool thing. Blow shit up. Kick ass. Yeah!

The film library of Johnny Depp. Sure, some are very odd and weird, but they are mostly, nearly all, fantastic. He can play damn near any character. Edward Scissorhands, Pirates, Sleepy Hollow etc. You can learn a lot about acting by watching him. Ed Wood was a great flick. Strange? Yes. Great film? Yes. To me, Johnny Depp has that classic Hollywood, vintage vibe about him that screams, I’m just me and so be it. Very James Dean meets Steve McQueen. Should you avoid any of the Johnny Depp collection? I say….No.

Although not all incredible or amazing, I do like all of the superhero flicks. Anything with Superman, Batman, Catwoman, Spiderman, The Punisher, Captain America etc. I’ll be there. The Avengers was fantastic! Looking forward to Justice League. Let’s hope they do it the right way.

The very first film I ever saw in the theatres was Star Wars. Yeah, holy crap. It changed me. It was a life experience that blew my mind. Kids today don’t really understand or grasp just how much Star Wars affected us kids back then. It was HUGE. I like all of the Star Wars flicks, especially Empire Strikes Back. The prequels we’re fine, although I didn’t like everything. It will be interested to see what Disney does with the franchise. I’m a mix of excited and leery. Be VERY careful Disney.

The classics we should all see: War Of The Worlds (original), Citizen Kane, Taxi Driver, Casablanca, Gone With The Wind, Star Wars, Forrest Gump, Airplane, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Animal House, Some Like It Hot, The Good, The Bad & The Ugly, Pulp Fiction, The Shining, Saving Private Ryan, E.T., Blade Runner, Caddyshack, Raging Bull, Psycho, The Thing, Bull Durham, The Exorcist, Breakfast Club, Gone With The Wind, Mad Max, Titanic, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Romeo & Juliet, Pretty In Pink etc. It’s an endless list.

Documentaries. I find some good, bad, heartwarming, horrible, scary, funny, etc. Usually they’ll get you to think. Nick Broomfield has made some excellent documentaries. Be sure to check out Kurt & Courtney. Whoa.

#1 in my life is my kids. Next…music and movies. I love ’em all. It’s family.

Leave a Reply

