Best & Worst Music and Movies of the Year

This isn’t based on popularity, sales, greased $ palms, sheep mentality or any bullshit, just strickly me. It’s my opinion.

Also, when it comes to both, I like all genres, so I’m never stuck in a box or put in a corner or labeled with a tag of oh, he’s only a (fill in the blank genre) fan. I like all kinds of stuff. Good is good. Bad is bad. Sometimes I like things that could be considered both.

I base my picks on the following: #1-Entertaining to me, #2-Could I listen or watch it a lot or often, #3-The balance of steak and sizzle. If the steak isn’t there, the sizzle doesn’t matter. I also must be clear, I have spent time digging into the art of everyone mentioned and sometimes if they annoy me, that plays into it.

There are a bunch more I could add for both best and worst, but I will mention a few for each.

image

BEST MUSIC OF THE YEAR

The Winery Dogs self titled debut album is excellent.

Motorhead’s Aftershock is f-ing kick ass. \m/ Lemmy rocks!

Paul McCartney’s New is a fab record.

Beady Eye’s BE is something I listen to often.

Arctic Monkeys AM is probably one of my favorite albums of theirs.

The National’s Trouble Will Find Me is like fine art.

Eminem’s MMA2. I dig it.

Lady Gaga’s ArtPop. I’m not a huge fan, but I think it’s a fine album.

Black Sabbath’s 13 is a decent punch to the soul.

Mazzy Star’s Seasons Of Your Day sets a nice tone.

Arcade Fire’s Reflektor stacks up to their other albums well.

Lorde’s Pure Heroine is incredible. If she can keep it calm and cool, she could have a nice long career.

Queens Of The Stone Age’s….Like Clockwork is well done.

nine inch nails Hesitation Marks yeah.

MGMT’s self titled disc is as fine as their others.

Franz Ferdinand’s Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action is not wrong in any way.

Julian Lennon’s Everything Changes. It’s nice to have Julian again. I’ve liked him since Valotte and he should be proud of this record. So talented.

Megadeth’s Super Collider could be one of my favorite albums of theirs.

Portugal.The Man’s Evil Friends is so freakin’ fantastic.

The Neighbourhood’s I Love You. I like it.

I could mention many more, but that’s enough.

A few things expected in 2014: Band of Skulls (I dig their stuff a lot and some of the songs are out now/album 2014), Foo Fighters, Jack White, Beck, Outkast (hopefully), Madonna (rumors), Bruce Springsteen’s High Hopes, Prince (yep, more stuff 3rd Eye Girl), Robert Plant, Mariah Carey’s The Art Of Letting Go (the song is out/album probably 2014), Adele, Nickelback (the most polarizing group ever), TV On The Radio, U2, Seal, GNR (buzz chattter), The Black Keys, Tool, Jewel, Hank III, Chickenfoot, Godsmack, Michael Jackson (unreleased tracks), AC/DC, Billy Idol, Metallica, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Modest Mouse, Samantha Fox, Gorillaz, Bob Seger, Don Henley, Tom Petty, ZZ Top, Weezer etc.

WORST MUSIC OF THE YEAR

Miley Cyrus’ Bangerz is a perfect example of crap. Garbage and most people love it. I hate it.

Kanye West’s Yeezus. Yeah, I’ve never been on the Kanye ship. I know most have this as their favorite, but I’m not one of the sheep. He couldn’t come close to the greatness of Urban/Rap/Hip Hop legends like Public Enemy, NWA, Run DMC, Dr. Dre, Snoop etc. Boom!

Katy Perry’s Prism. Sure, she has a lot of hits, but strip away the production and the bells & whistles and what’s left? Just a cute girl.

Britney Spears Britney Jean. See above. Pop factory fun.

This one could be endless, but most of the product is trash, but people enjoy eating it up.

image

BEST MOVIES OF THE YEAR

Fruitvale Station with Michael B. Jordan. Award winning.

Gravity starring George Clooney and Sandra Bullock. Great story. Great chemistry.

Afternoon Delight with Juno Temple & Josh Radnor. Fine film.

Captain Phillips starring Tom Hanks and an amazing cast.

Iron Man 3 with Robert Downey Jr. I didn’t like it as much as the first or second, but this was still a decent third film.

After Earth starring Will Smith. It was an enjoyable flick, regardless of the flack it got.

World War Z starring Brad Pitt. I read the book years ago and the film is as great as the book.

The Wolverine starring Hugh Jackman. Kick ass!

The Last Stand starring Arnold Schwarzenegger. It was exactly what I expected. Simple.

Pacific Rim with Idris Elba was a monstrous dose of holy crap.

Oblivion starring Tom Cruise. Interesting story. Surprising in many ways because of what I know. Spot on with things.

Bullet To The Head starring Sly Stallone. I liked it for what it was.

Good Day To Die Hard starring Bruce Willis. I enjoy the Die Hard series and I will not apologize.

The Lone Ranger with Armie Hammer and Johnny Depp. It’s not as good as it could have been, but it’s not as bad as some think. Heck, Quentin Tarantino liked it!

Saving Mr. Banks starring Tom Hanks. I got to see an advance screening of this and it’s a great story.

I realize some of my picks bombed, critics disliked etc., BUT, like I stated in the beginning, I don’t follow trends or anything else.

There’s many more I could mention, but that’s enough.

WORST MOVIES OF THE YEAR

Salinger. I really like documentaries and I’m a fan of JD Salinger’s books, but I guess I wanted more from this than I got. BTW, for excellent documentaries, be sure to check out classic Nick Broomfield’s films, especially Kurt & Courtney. Damn.

There’s plenty of stinkers out there, but I’ll leave ’em alone.

A few things expected in 2014: Noah starring Russell Crowe, Captain America: The Winter Soldier with Chris Evans, Transformers: Age of Extinction with Mark Wahlberg, Sandra Bullock will be a part of the animated Minions as Scarlett Overkill, Imagine starring Al Pacino, Sabotage starring Arnold Schwarzenegger, The Lost Symbol starring Tom Hanks, Expendables 3 with Sly Stallone, Hercules with The Rock, The Prince with Bruce Willis, The Normal Heart with Julia Roberts, Focus starring Will Smith, Transcendence with Johnny Depp etc.

Twitter: @DavidAlanEppley

Leave a Reply

