Music, Movies and My Mind

image

image

Various ramblings on music and movies…many genres. Some of these things are old classics, some are new and some will be out this year, next year or the year after.

I’ve always stated I’m a complete geek and like a lot of stuff and can’t be put in a box, stuck in a corner, have tunnel vision or being stubborn about not budging from my certain comfort zone entertainment wise.

I can be very opinionated about what I think is good or bad. I’m not one to go with the popular stance or mediocre factory drivel. McDonald’s is #1 with popularity and making money, not quality and not the greatest meal you’ve ever had. There is also some things I dig that some would consider junk too. It’s what it so nice…we all have opinions.

My entertainment path (which you can read about in great detail in a few earlier posts, including one called I love music and movies) started probably around four or five. I’ve always enjoyed music and movies, a lot. As a young kid, very pop driven…superstar type acts (Madonna, Bruce Springsteen, Prince, Michael Jackson etc) with some rock, country (really loved Johnny Cash), urban/r&b and rap/hip hop (huge Public Enemy fan, early Run DMC). By thirteen, I was pretty much a rock and roll guy and then in high school, which for me was 1987-1990, was the haven for hard rock/heavy metal and yeah, hair bands. It was the peak of that 80’s party excess. I liked all that stuff from the early AC/DC and debut of Van Halen, Quiet Riot blowing up, Ratt, then Motley Crue, Poison and the onslaight. I think what I enjoyed most during this period was Motorhead, Metallica and Megadeth. They took zero shit. I loved it. Now, like I’ve stated…I am weird, so I also enjoyed really early U2 from their debut…long before most knew who they were and years before they really became what they did. I liked early INXS. My metal friends thought it sucked My post modern, alternative, new wave type of friends disliked metal. Same shit like now, really. So, many times I was stuck not being understood by anyone. I take that shit with pride. See, I liked The Cure and Depeche Mode too. The Clash and the Sex Pistols…some of this punk was great. Everyone seemed to agree that the Ramones were fucking great. That’s one band hipsters and metalheads can agree on. Motorhead too in some ways, because punkers could dig them. You can be a hardcore REAL fan of a certain kind of stuff and still like others. I’ve never understood the mentality of…well, if you like this, you can’t really like that. Whatever. Anyway, be sure to check out earlier posts (way back) and I cover more.

The 80’s was such an interesting period. I loved all mob/mafia related stuff, so The Godfather trilogy, Goodfellas (which came later on) and Scarface all left their marks on my movie experiences. I really liked John Hughes films. They really defined the 80’s…not only just the movies, but the music in them. Superstar acts began to really define a lot of my time watching movies (Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sly Stallone, Al Pacino, Robert DeNiro, Bruce Willis etc). I thought Julia Roberts was hot. In ’93, I was actually in Marion, Indiana the day she married Lyle Lovett and got a look at them. I never understood that. Julia and Lyle??? I spent a lot of time in Marion because I’d visit my grandma. Julia and Lyle even went to McDonald’s.

Huge respect and appreciation for the legends: Elvis, The Beatles, The Doors, The Rolling Stones, The Kinks, Marvin Gaye etc. Marlon Brando, Marilyn Monroe, Cary Grant, Ingrid Bergman, James Dean etc.

The 90’s, as a rock fan, was better than the 80’s for me. As much as I like much of the 80’s…I really enjoyed the 90’s…Nirvana, Alice In Chains, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, STP etc. Mother Love Bone was the bridge from the 80’s to the 90’s.

I like finding and discovering something fresh, different in both music and movies. I dig indie acts, indie labels. It’s only a piece of what I enjoy, but I do like things I’ve never seen or heard before and usually, many, if not most of them become something months or years later. It’s one of the reasons I go through Souncloud often, Reverb Nation, Band Camp, This Is My Jam, IndScene, Indie Shuffle, Pitchfork, Stereogum, Hype Machine, Slicing Up Eyeballs, Consequence of Sound, Rolling Stone, NME, Spin, Billboard (used to a lot, but they are not what they used to be…VERY much for sheep) etc. for music and Film, The Playlist, Total Film, The Dissolve, Metacritic (for both) etc. for movies.

The following is not in any kind of order.

What I Like At The Moment:

Band of Skulls and can’t wait for the upcoming album. My favorite band for now. I dig their other albums and what I’ve heard from the next one, Himalayan, sounds excellent.

TV On The Radio. I like anything they do. Mercy is one of my favorite songs ever.

Temples. Another act that deserves great acclaim.

The Afghan Whigs. They’re back and I dig it.

Superfood. Interesting band. Great sound. I have a feeling about them.

Public Access TV. NYC’s best kept secret. Should be huge eventually.

Jungle. Unique.

Radio Dept. I like all they do.

Bruce Springsteen’s High Hopes.

Beck’s Morning Phase is fantastic. I remember way back in the day, pre-Loser, I told a record rep from a competing label that Beck was gonna be big and he thought I was nuts. He later said I was correct. Beck had a great run in the 90’s and this fresh stuff is as good or better and certainly beats most of the stuff out there now. It’s a chill, bad ass record.

I enjoyed Non-Stop starring Liam Neeson.

Motorhead.

Damon Albarn.

James.

St. Vincent.

The National.

3 Days To Kill starring Kevin Costner was fun.

Megadeth.

Looking Forward To:

The Foo Fighters.

The Cult.

Madonna.

Prince/3rd Eye Girl.

The Black Keys.

Guns N’ Roses.

50 Cent.

Adele.

Phil Collins.

The Both.

Slash.

Mariah Carey.

Van Halen.

George Michael’s Symphonica.

Def Leppard.

Michael Jackson unreleased material.

U2.

Robert Plant.

Shakira.

Judas Priest.

John Waite.

Samantha Fox.

Don Henley.

Oasis.

AC/DC.

Bob Seger.

Johnny Cash’s Out Among The Stars.

Tom Petty.

Yes.

The Rentals.

Kid Rock.

Slipknot.

The Neighbourhood.

Metallica.

Elvis Costello.

Michael Stipe.

Weezer.

Billy Idol.

The Dandy Warhols.

Damon Albarn’s Everyday Robots…the whole album.

Sin City: A Dame To Kill with the sexy Jessica Alba.

Captain America: Winter Soldier starring Chris Evans.

Sabotage starring Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Under The Skin with Scarlett Johansson.

The Expendable s 3 starring Sly Stallone and company.

Captive, The Prince and Rock The Kasbah all three starring Bruce Willis.

Focus starring Will Smith.

Transcendence starring Johnny Depp.

Amazing Spiderman 2 with Andrew Garfield.

Superman vs. Batman starring Henry Cavill and Ben Affleck. I know it’s far away, but I’m curious about it. It could be really good or really, really bad.

Black Mass with Johnny Depp, where he’ll play mobster Whitey Bulger.

Be sure to check out PauseandPlay and JoBlo for great music and movie info.

David Eppley
Facebook
Twitter
Tumblr
and all the rest too.

Leave a Reply

